During this unprecedented time, Office of Research Administration (ORA), the Office of the Human Research Protection Program (OHRPP), the Office of Contract and Grant Administration (OCGA), Research Safety and Animal Welfare Administration (RSAWA), Extramural Fund Management (EFM), Research Data Management (ORDM), and Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI), continue to be fully operational. We are ensuring that vital research continues, especially in regards to COVID-19 and we will prioritize submissions related to COVID-19. The ORA can also be contacted for additional information, please send research-specific questions to C19@research.ucla.edu.

RAPID Response Team

The RAPID Response Team was created to help provide support, and streamline an immediate response to incoming inquiries. The individual points of contacts for each of the Offices, that are directly involved in expediting a COVID-19 transaction, are listed below.

The RAPID Response Team includes an individual representative from each of the following Offices: OCGA, OHRPP, RSAWA, EFM, ORDM, and CTSI.

PrintExpand AllCollapse All

New UCLA Health and the David Geffen School of Medicine (DGSOM) COVID-19 Research Governance Structure

The DGSOM have created a dedicated email inbox, COVID19Research@mednet.ucla.edu, for all queries related to COVID-19 research at DGSOM, which will be managed and monitored by the OCRC. Please direct all emails and requests concerning COVID-19 research to that inbox. You are also encouraged to cc the chair of the most relevant Task Force and/or Steve Smale, the Vice Dean for Research. The DGSOM recognize the urgency of all COVID-related activities and the frequent need to respond to competitive opportunities sometimes within 24 hours so the DGSOM are committed to same-day response to all emails coming to this address. For additional information, please visit the UCLA DGSOM, COVID-19 page.

The DGSOM leadership, through Vice Dean for Research Steve Smale, is implementing a new COVID-19 Research Governance Structure to facilitate strategic, prioritized allocation of financial resources, biospecimens, PPE, and research facilities.

This infrastructure will be led by a central Oversight COVID-19 Research Committee (OCRC) chaired by Dr. Owen Witte, Director of the Broad Stem Cell Research Center. Membership includes:

  • Steve Smale, Vice Dean for Research, DGSOM;
  • Steve Dubinett, Associate Vice Chancellor, Sr. Associate Dean and Director of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute;
  • Sarah Dry, Interim Chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine;
  • Jeff F. Miller, Director of the California NanoSystem Institute;
  • Daniel Geschwind, Associate Vice Chancellor, Sr. Associate Dean and Director of the Institute for Precision Health;
  • Michael Teitell, Director of the Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center;
  • Emilie Marcus, Executive Strategy Officer for the DGSOM, and
  • Jamie Lynn, Executive Director, Health Science Development.
  • The OCRC will be staffed by Steve Peckman, Dion Baybridge, and Rosely Encarnacion.

The OCRC will set a bold, collective vision and roadmap for COVID-19 research supported by the DGSOM.

There are five task forces with deep expertise in specific domains that will report up to the OCRC for research related to COVID-19, to accelerate problem-solving and decision-making:

  • The DGSOM-CTSI COVID-19 Clinical Research Task Force is led by Chief Medical Officer for Clinical Research Arash Naeim and Infectious Diseases Division Chief Judith Currier. The scope of this task force includes clinical trials, clinical and population health research.
  • The Biospecimen Use Task Force (chair TBD) will evaluate, prioritize and consolidate requests from UCLA faculty and their academic collaborators for patient samples and their corresponding de-identified patient data sets.
  • The COVID-19 Basic Science Research Task Force is co-led by BSCRC Co-Director and Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Gay Crooks and DGSOM Executive Strategy Officer Emilie Marcus. The scope of this task force, which will report to the OCRC, includes basic through translational biomedical research on COVID-19.
  • The High-Containment Use Committee, recently appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Research, Roger Wakimoto, is led by Jerry Zack. This task force, which reports to Vice Chancellor Wakimoto, is charged with determining priorities and evaluating requests for use of high-containment research space, where live COVID-19 virus can be studied. This committee will communicate closely with the OCRC to ensure that the high-containment facility does not become over-booked and is able to carry out COVID-19 research with high impact potential. This committee is supported by RSAWA.
  • The Heath Data Oversight Committee is chaired by Mike Pfeffer. This committee, which reports to Vice Chancellor for Health John Mazziotta, will evaluate and approve requests for COVID-19-related patient data from third party sources.

Page Last Updated: June 16, 2020